Boyle Fredrickson Celebrates 10th Anniversary; Names Durst to Board

Boyle Fredrickson, Wisconsin’s largest intellectual property law firm, officially celebrated its 10th anniversary in December of 2009. Ten years ago, shareholders James Boyle, John Fredrickson, Timothy Newholm, David Stein and Michael Gratz founded the Milwaukee-based IP law firm now known simply as Boyle Fredrickson.

“A large part of our success is derived from our singular focus on IP law,” said Gratz, the firm’s vice president and one of the founding shareholders. “We have never tried to be all things to all people. We concentrate on providing the very best IP legal services and counsel possible. It has been a formula that has served both the firm and our clients well.”

With 21 practicing attorneys and 19 additional support staff, Boyle Fredrickson is now home to a total of 40 employees. Since the firm’s inception, Boyle Fredrickson attorneys have filed more than 4,100 domestic patent applications, 1,700 foreign patent applications and 400 Patent Cooperating Treaty (PCT) applications. The firm has also filed more than 1,600 domestic trademark applications and 400 foreign trademark applications. Boyle Fredrickson attorneys have also litigated a variety of IP disputes and counseled on numerous contractual matters during the past ten years.

In addition, the firm has been recognized with numerous awards and honors, even garnering an architectural award for the office headquarters at 840 N. Plankinton Avenue. As recently as the fall of 2009, Boyle Fredrickson was named as one of Milwaukee’s fastest growing organizations and listed among the 25 largest law firms in southeast Wisconsin by the Business Journal of Milwaukee. In the summer of 2009, Boyle Fredrickson was named by the Milwaukee Metropolitan Association of Commerce as a Future 50 Winner for the third consecutive year in recognition of its revenue and employment growth. The firm has also had several attorneys listed among the Best Lawyers and Super Lawyers listings.

It has been a rewarding decade for the firm according to Boyle Fredrickson President Peter Stomma. “I am proud of the resolve that our clients have showed, especially in light of recent economic challenges,” said Stomma. “They are part of the fabric of innovation for our country. As we move forward into our next decade, Boyle Fredrickson is committed to providing our clients with the thoughtful counsel and outstanding service they have come to expect.”

At the recent December meetings, Boyle Fredrickson’s shareholders elected fellow attorney and shareholder Jay Durst to the Board of Directors. Boyle Fredrickson’s leadership welcomed Durst as the firm’s treasurer. Keith Baxter, the law firm’s former treasurer, now assumes the duties of secretary.


About Boyle Fredrickson

Established in 1999, Boyle Fredrickson has grown to become Wisconsin’s largest intellectual property law firm. You’ve got ideas, we protect them.

Share On Social Media